Agnes Mary Clerke Medal for Historical Research (A/G)

Agnes Mary Clerke Medal
Royal Astronomical Society

The Agnes Mary Clerke Medal for Historical Research in Astronomy or Geophysics is awarded every three years to an individual who has achieved outstanding personal research into the history of astronomy or geophysics. Proposed in 2015, as a dedicated medal for historical research rather than awarding the Jackson-Gwilt Medal every five years.  The first medal was awarded in 2017, then in 2020 to coincide with the bicentenary of the RAS. 

To nominate for the Agnes Mary Clerke Medal

Nominations should be submitted by 31 July for the following year's awards and should include:

  • The online nomination form below
  • A full CV
  • A short list of key refereed publications (preferably with citation data. Ideally, this publication list should be extracted from the Astrophysics Data System)
  • Your nomination (minimum length 300 words, maximum length 600 words). This should address how the nominee fulfils the criteria of the Award. The nomination should also include the nominee's present career stage, the nominee's present post, and other awards and honours. Successful nominations argue a strong case for why the nominee deserves the award over and above one of their peers working in the same area. It is helpful if the nomination is phrased in such a way that extracts from it can be used in the formal recommendation of the Committee.
  • Additionally, please give details of two referees who will be contacted by email and asked to send supporting statements.

Fill out the form here.